Company registration number SC313336 (Scotland)
SCOTTISH CHAMBERS OF COMMERCE LIMITED
FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
PAGES FOR FILING WITH REGISTRAR
SCOTTISH CHAMBERS OF COMMERCE LIMITED
CONTENTS
Page
Balance sheet
1
Statement of changes in equity
2
Notes to the financial statements
3 - 8
SCOTTISH CHAMBERS OF COMMERCE LIMITED
BALANCE SHEET
AS AT 31 DECEMBER 2025
31 December 2025
- 1 -
2025
2024
Notes
£
£
£
£
Current assets
Debtors
5
239,268
222,578
Cash at bank and in hand
647,928
773,209
887,196
995,787
Creditors: amounts falling due within one year
6
(290,608)
(419,452)
Net current assets
596,588
576,335
Reserves
Other reserves
9
216,322
216,322
Profit and loss account
9
380,266
360,013
Members' funds
596,588
576,335
The directors of the company have elected not to include a copy of the income and expenditure account within the financial statements.true
These financial statements have been prepared and delivered in accordance with the provisions applicable to companies subject to the small companies regime.
The financial statements were approved by the board of directors and authorised for issue on 13 August 2026 and are signed on its behalf by:
Mr R Ayre
Director
Company Registration No. SC313336
SCOTTISH CHAMBERS OF COMMERCE LIMITED
STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN EQUITY
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 2 -
Other reserves
Profit and loss account
Total
£
£
£
Balance at 1 January 2024
216,322
328,234
544,556
Year ended 31 December 2024:
Profit and total comprehensive income for the year
-
31,779
31,779
Balance at 31 December 2024
216,322
360,013
576,335
Year ended 31 December 2025:
Profit and total comprehensive income for the year
-
20,253
20,253
Balance at 31 December 2025
216,322
380,266
596,588
SCOTTISH CHAMBERS OF COMMERCE LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 3 -
1
Accounting policies
Company information
Scottish Chambers of Commerce Limited is a private company limited by guarantee incorporated in Scotland. The registered office is 199 Cathedral Street, Glasgow, United Kingdom, G4 0QU.
1.1
Accounting convention
These financial statements have been prepared in accordance with FRS 102 “The Financial Reporting Standard applicable in the UK and Republic of Ireland” (“FRS 102”) and the requirements of the Companies Act 2006 as applicable to companies subject to the small companies regime. The disclosure requirements of section 1A of FRS 102 have been applied other than where additional disclosure is required to show a true and fair view.
The financial statements are prepared in sterling, which is the functional currency of the company. Monetary amounts in these financial statements are rounded to the nearest £.
The financial statements have been prepared under the historical cost convention. The principal accounting policies adopted are set out below.
1.2
Going concern
Having reviewed future projections, new projects undertaken and taking into consideration future commitments, the board of directors are of the opinion that the company can continue to meet its obligations as they fall due for the foreseeable future. true
The directors regularly carry out specific detailed sensitivity analysis on the company's cashflow forecasts and financial viability. As a consequence, the Directors conclude that the the company is stable and financially viable to continue with its operations thus the financial statements have been prepared on a going concern basis.
1.3
Turnover
Turnover is recognised at the fair value of the consideration received or receivable for goods and services provided in the normal course of business, and is shown net of VAT and other sales related taxes.
Grant income is recognised as turnover over the periods in which the relates services are delivered or costs are incurred. A grant that specifies performance conditions is recognised in income when the performance conditions are met. Where a grant does not specify performance conditions it is recognised in income when the proceeds are received or receivable. A grant received before the recognition criteria are satisfied is recognised as a liability.
Affiliation fee income is recognised over time, on a straight line basis over the period of affiliation. Income received in advance is deferred to future periods.
Event income is recognised in the period in which the event takes place. Amounts received in advance of events are deferred until the event occurs.
Business partner income is recognised over time, on a straight line basis over the term of the agreement. Income invoiced or received in advance is deferred where appropriate.
1.4
Cash and cash equivalents
Cash and cash equivalents are basic financial assets and include cash in hand, deposits held at call with banks and other short-term liquid investments with original maturities of three months or less.
SCOTTISH CHAMBERS OF COMMERCE LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
1
Accounting policies
(Continued)
- 4 -
1.5
Financial instruments
The company has elected to apply the provisions of Section 11 ‘Basic Financial Instruments’ and Section 12 ‘Other Financial Instruments Issues’ of FRS 102 to all of its financial instruments.
Financial instruments are recognised in the company's balance sheet when the company becomes party to the contractual provisions of the instrument.
Financial assets and liabilities are offset, with the net amounts presented in the financial statements, when there is a legally enforceable right to set off the recognised amounts and there is an intention to settle on a net basis or to realise the asset and settle the liability simultaneously.
Basic financial assets
Basic financial assets, which include debtors and cash and bank balances, are initially measured at transaction price including transaction costs and are subsequently carried at amortised cost using the effective interest method unless the arrangement constitutes a financing transaction, where the transaction is measured at the present value of the future receipts discounted at a market rate of interest. Financial assets classified as receivable within one year are not amortised.
Classification of financial liabilities
Financial liabilities and equity instruments are classified according to the substance of the contractual arrangements entered into. An equity instrument is any contract that evidences a residual interest in the assets of the company after deducting all of its liabilities.
Basic financial liabilities
Basic financial liabilities, including creditors, are initially recognised at transaction price unless the arrangement constitutes a financing transaction, where the debt instrument is measured at the present value of the future payments discounted at a market rate of interest. Financial liabilities classified as payable within one year are not amortised.
Debt instruments are subsequently carried at amortised cost, using the effective interest rate method.
Trade creditors are obligations to pay for goods or services that have been acquired in the ordinary course of business from suppliers. Amounts payable are classified as current liabilities if payment is due within one year or less. If not, they are presented as non-current liabilities. Trade creditors are recognised initially at transaction price and subsequently measured at amortised cost using the effective interest method.
Other financial liabilities
Equity instruments issued by the company are recorded at the proceeds received, net of transaction costs. Dividends payable on equity instruments are recognised as liabilities once they are no longer at the discretion of the company.
1.6
Taxation
The tax expense represents the sum of the tax currently payable and deferred tax.
Current tax
The tax currently payable is based on taxable profit for the year. Taxable profit differs from net profit as reported in the profit and loss account because it excludes items of income or expense that are taxable or deductible in other years and it further excludes items that are never taxable or deductible. The company’s liability for current tax is calculated using tax rates that have been enacted or substantively enacted by the reporting end date.
SCOTTISH CHAMBERS OF COMMERCE LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
1
Accounting policies
(Continued)
- 5 -
Deferred tax
Deferred tax liabilities are generally recognised for all timing differences and deferred tax assets are recognised to the extent that it is probable that they will be recovered against the reversal of deferred tax liabilities or other future taxable profits. Such assets and liabilities are not recognised if the timing difference arises from the initial recognition of other assets and liabilities in a transaction that affects neither the tax profit nor the accounting profit.
The carrying amount of deferred tax assets is reviewed at each reporting end date and reduced to the extent that it is no longer probable that sufficient taxable profits will be available to allow all or part of the asset to be recovered. Deferred tax is calculated at the tax rates that are expected to apply in the period when the liability is settled or the asset is realised. Deferred tax is charged or credited in the profit and loss account, except when it relates to items charged or credited directly to equity, in which case the deferred tax is also dealt with in equity. Deferred tax assets and liabilities are offset when the company has a legally enforceable right to offset current tax assets and liabilities and the deferred tax assets and liabilities relate to taxes levied by the same tax authority.
1.7
Employee benefits
The costs of short-term employee benefits are recognised as a liability and an expense.
The cost of any unused holiday entitlement is recognised in the period in which the employee’s services are received.
Termination benefits are recognised immediately as an expense when the company is demonstrably committed to terminate the employment of an employee or to provide termination benefits.
1.8
Retirement benefits
Payments to defined contribution retirement benefit schemes are charged as an expense as they fall due.
1.9
Leases
Rentals payable under operating leases, including any lease incentives received, are charged to profit or loss on a straight line basis over the term of the relevant lease except where another more systematic basis is more representative of the time pattern in which economic benefits from the leased asset are consumed.
1.10
Government grants
Government grants are recognised at the fair value of the asset received or receivable when there is reasonable assurance that the grant conditions will be met and the grants will be received.
A grant that specifies performance conditions is recognised in income when the performance conditions are met. Where a grant does not specify performance conditions it is recognised in income when the proceeds are received or receivable. A grant received before the recognition criteria are satisfied is recognised as a liability.
2
Judgements and key sources of estimation uncertainty
In the application of the company’s accounting policies, the directors are required to make judgements, estimates and assumptions about the carrying amount of assets and liabilities that are not readily apparent from other sources. The estimates and associated assumptions are based on historical experience and other factors that are considered to be relevant. Actual results may differ from these estimates.
The estimates and underlying assumptions are reviewed on an ongoing basis. Revisions to accounting estimates are recognised in the period in which the estimate is revised where the revision affects only that period, or in the period of the revision and future periods where the revision affects both current and future periods.
SCOTTISH CHAMBERS OF COMMERCE LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 6 -
3
Employees
The average monthly number of persons (including directors) employed by the company during the year was:
2025
2024
Number
Number
Total
8
8
4
Directors' remuneration
2025
2024
£
£
Remuneration paid to directors
161,526
150,473
The number of directors for whom retirement benefits are accruing under defined contribution schemes amounted to 1 (2024: 1)
5
Debtors
2025
2024
Amounts falling due within one year:
£
£
Trade debtors
55,692
98,502
Other debtors
183,576
124,076
239,268
222,578
6
Creditors: amounts falling due within one year
2025
2024
£
£
Trade creditors
17,018
47,839
Taxation and social security
13,426
15,611
Other creditors
260,164
356,002
290,608
419,452
7
Members' liability
The company is limited by guarantee, not having a share capital and consequently the liability of members is limited, subject to an undertaking by each member to contribute to the net assets or liabilities of the company on winding up such amounts as may be required not exceeding £1.
SCOTTISH CHAMBERS OF COMMERCE LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 7 -
8
Other reserves
The capital fund represents the general fund account for the Scottish Chambers of Commerce when its business and assets were transferred to the company on 1 January 2007.
9
Profit and loss account
The profit and loss account contains all current and prior year retained profits and losses.
10
Audit report information
As the income statement has been omitted from the filing copy of the financial statements, the following information in relation to the audit report on the statutory financial statements is provided in accordance with s444(5B) of the Companies Act 2006.
The auditor's report is unqualified and includes the following:
Opinion
In our opinion the financial statements:
give a true and fair view of the state of the company's affairs as at 31 December 2025 and of its profit for the year then ended;
have been properly prepared in accordance with United Kingdom Generally Accepted Accounting Practice applicable to Small Entities; and
have been prepared in accordance with the requirements of the Companies Act 2006.
Senior Statutory Auditor:
David Samborek
Statutory Auditor:
Azets Audit Services
Date of audit report:
27 August 2026
11
Other professional services provided by the auditor
In common with many other businesses of our size and nature we use our auditor to prepare and submit returns to the tax authorities and assist with the preparation of financial statements.
12
Operating lease commitments
As lessee
At the reporting end date the company had outstanding commitments for future minimum lease payments under non-cancellable operating leases, as follows:
2025
2024
£
£
Total commitments
10,000
10,000
13
Related party transactions
Due to the nature of the company and the composition of its Board and Council, it is inevitable that transactions with members will arise. Such transactions are conducted on arms length terms and are not disclosed when they form part of the normal activity of the company.
SCOTTISH CHAMBERS OF COMMERCE LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 8 -
14
Ultimate controlling party
Due to the nature of the business, there is not considered to be an ultimate controlling party.