Kinlochleven Power Ltd SC552928 false 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 2025-12-31 The principal activity of the company is the operation and sale of electricity from the hydropower plant located at Kinlochleven in Scotland. Digita Accounts Production Advanced 6.30.9574.0 true true true Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 false true SC552928 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:Director1 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:Director8 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:OrdinaryShareClass1 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:Consolidated 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:AcceleratedTaxDepreciationDeferredTax 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:FurtherSpecificItem1DeferredTaxComponentTotalForDeferredTax 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:FurtherSpecificItem2DeferredTaxComponentTotalForDeferredTax 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:RetainedEarningsAccumulatedLosses 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:ShareCapital 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:CurrentFinancialInstruments 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:CurrentFinancialInstruments core:WithinOneYear 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:BetweenTwoFiveYears 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:MoreThanFiveYears 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:WithinOneYear 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:FurnitureFittingsToolsEquipment 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:LandBuildings 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:DeferredTaxation 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:FRS102 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:Audited 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:FullAccounts 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:RegisteredOffice 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:Director1 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:Director7 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:Director8 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:OrdinaryShareClass1 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:Consolidated 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:PrivateLimitedCompanyLtd 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 bus:Agent1 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:RetainedEarningsAccumulatedLosses 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:ShareCapital 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 countries:UnitedKingdom 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:ReportableOperatingSegment1 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:ReportableOperatingSegment2 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:ReportableOperatingSegment3 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:FurnitureFittings 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:FurnitureFittingsToolsEquipment 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:LandBuildings 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:PlantMachinery 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:DeferredTaxation 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:AllSubsidiaries 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:ParentEntities 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 core:UKTax 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 1 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 countries:Scotland 2025-01-01 2025-12-31 SC552928 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:RetainedEarningsAccumulatedLosses 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:ShareCapital 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:FurnitureFittingsToolsEquipment 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:LandBuildings 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:DeferredTaxation 2024-12-31 SC552928 2024-01-01 2024-12-31 SC552928 2024-12-31 SC552928 bus:OrdinaryShareClass1 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:AcceleratedTaxDepreciationDeferredTax 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:FurtherSpecificItem1DeferredTaxComponentTotalForDeferredTax 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:FurtherSpecificItem2DeferredTaxComponentTotalForDeferredTax 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:CurrentFinancialInstruments 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:CurrentFinancialInstruments core:WithinOneYear 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:BetweenTwoFiveYears 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:MoreThanFiveYears 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:WithinOneYear 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:FurnitureFittingsToolsEquipment 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:LandBuildings 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:RetainedEarningsAccumulatedLosses 2024-01-01 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:ShareCapital 2024-01-01 2024-12-31 SC552928 countries:UnitedKingdom 2024-01-01 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:ReportableOperatingSegment1 2024-01-01 2024-12-31 SC552928 core:UKTax 2024-01-01 2024-12-31 SC552928 2023-12-31 SC552928 core:RetainedEarningsAccumulatedLosses 2023-12-31 SC552928 core:ShareCapital 2023-12-31 iso4217:GBP xbrli:pure xbrli:shares

Registration number: SC552928

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Annual Report and Financial Statements

for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Contents

Company Information

1

Strategic Report

2 to 5

Directors' Report

6

Statement of Directors' Responsibilities

7

Independent Auditor's Report

8 to 11

Statement of Income and Retained Earnings

12

Statement of Financial Position

13

Statement of Changes in Equity

14

Statement of Cash Flows

15

Notes to the Financial Statements

16 to 29

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Company Information

Directors

M Panfili

T Cunningham

Registered office

1st Floor Cef Building
Inveralmond Road
Inveralmond Industrial Estate
Perth
PH1 3TW

Auditors

Morris & Young, Statutory Auditor Chartered Accountants
6 Atholl Crescent
Perth
PH1 5JN

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Strategic Report for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

The directors present their strategic report for the year ended 31 December 2025.

Principal activity

The principal activity of the company is the operation and sale of electricity from the hydropower plant located at Kinlochleven in Scotland.

Fair review of the business

The Company generated over 158MW of renewable electricity during the course of the year.

The directors’ focus is to operate the plant safely and to optimise the future of the hydropower scheme. This is supported by operations and maintenance (O&M) and management services contracts being in place, which have the following key objectives:-
- achieving the optimum reliability of the assets ;
- minimising operational costs on a life cycle basis;
- management of the service & maintenance of the assets; and
- continued compliance with all regulatory, environmental and consents requirements
- prioritising the health and safety of all personnel working on site

The results for the year ended 31st December 2025 are set out on page 12.

Generation in 2025 was around 13% lower than in 2024 as a result of water levels in the dam being lower after a drier year. However, lower energy prices and generation also resulted in a reduction in payments under the Energy Generation Levy to £nil (2024 - £1,782,304) resulting in lower operating costs.

The company's key financial and other performance indicators during the year were as follows:

Financial KPIs

Unit

2025

2024

Revenue

£m

22,733

39,030

Gross Profit

£m

8,751

27,529

Operating Profit

£m

8,347

27,249

Profit before tax

£m

1,466

20,674

Net assets

£m

4,046

14,471

Future Developments

The priorities of the Company for the future continue to be to:
- fully comply with all safety standards and environmental requirements; and
- ensure the generation assets are available to respond to customer demand, market conditions and meet contractual obligations

Additionally, a strategic review of the O&M and asset management responsibilities of the Company has been undertaken with the objective to optimise the efficiency, reliability, availability and longevity of the assets. This has led to the adoption of updated asset management and O&M plans.

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Strategic Report for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

Principal risks and uncertainties

The management of the business and the execution of the Company's strategy are subject to a number of risks. The key business risks affecting the Company are set out below:

Continuity of Generation
Generation is impacted by a number of factors, the principal risks being:-
• Water availability;
• Operational performance of the assets;
A secure and stable supply of water is key to the success of the Company. Management have put in place systems to monitor and control the release of water from the storage reservoir to the power station to optimise water availability. Climate change has the potential to change the pattern and volume of rainfall. The average rainfall of the West of Scotland, where the scheme operates, is monitored closely with regular risk assessment undertaken. To date, the average rainfall patterns year on year do not show any trends which cause concern.

The scheme is regularly maintained under an O&M contract, with management of the asset overseen by Green Highland Renewables Ltd, who also continually monitor the scheme and can react quickly to resolve any operational performance. A comprehensive insurance package is also maintained which covers both unforeseen business interruption and breakdowns.

Power Prices
To mitigate the risk of fluctuations in energy prices, the directors have put in place a Power Purchase Agreement which fixes the export price of energy and provides certainty over short term income (typically 12mths). All longer term forecasts and planning is undertaken based on the Baringa energy price curve forecast. The Company‘s hydropower scheme is also accredited under the Renewable Obligations scheme and Renewable Energy Generation of Origin scheme, administered by Ofgem, which both issue certificates (ROCS and Regos) for generation of renewable energy. While prices of Regos fluctuate in line with energy prices, ROCs are sold at a minimum buy-out price set by Ofgem, and are adjusted by RPI each year, thereby providing a mitigation against inflation and energy price fluctuations.

Increased Operating Costs
The main costs of operation relates to O&M costs, rates and insurance. The O&M management contract has been negotiated to limit the annual increase to no more than inflation, with an annual forecast of O&M expenditure together with a medium term outlook of forecast costs agreed annually in advance by the directors.

The risk of unforeseen increases in operating costs relates largely to breakdown & repairs and the directors are satisfied that the insurance arrangements which are in place are appropriate to mitigate this risk.

Environmental Risk
Managing environmental risk is a key priority of the directors and a range of controls and processes are in place to ensure ongoing compliance with environmental legislation. This includes an automated system to monitor the daily performance of the scheme, internal reporting of compliance reported on a monthly basis, bi-annual independent inspections of the Blackwater reservoir, where the hydropower scheme is located, and independent inspections of the dam at regular intervals.

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Strategic Report for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

Financial Risks

Arrangements are in place to manage the financial risks arising from generation, power price and operational risks as set out above. Additionally, financial risk is actively managed through a cycle of monthly monitoring using appropriate financial and operational key performance indicators.
The Company has secured debt funding from its parent company on a long-term basis at a fixed rate of interest and therefore has no exposure to interest rate volatility.

The Company manages credit risk by assessing the credit risk of the counterparties for all revenue contracts using qualitative and quantitative criteria.

Section 172(1) statement

Section 172 of the Companies Act 2006 requires each director of a company to act in the way he or she considers, in good faith, would most likely promote the success of the company for the benefit of its members as a whole. Furthermore, section 172 requires each director to have regard, amongst other matters, to the following matters:-
- the likely consequences of any decisions in the long term;
- the need to foster the company’s business relationships with suppliers, customers and others;
- the impact of the company’s operations on the community and the environment;
- the desirability of the company maintaining a reputation for high standards of business conduct; and
- the need to act fairly as between members of the company.

In discharging their section 172 duties, the directors of the Company have considered each of the matters set out above in all decision making, in addition to consideration of the specific matters relating to the decision being made. This includes the regulatory and legal responsibilities in the operation and future decommissioning of the hydropower plant.

The directors have a system of regular review of health and safety, environmental, legal and regulatory compliance and financial and operational performance. This is in addition to due and full consideration of all other pertinent matters relating to the successful operation of the Company over the course of the year including the Company’s business strategy, key risks, stakeholder related matters, corporate responsibility, governance and compliance with all legislation. This is effected by consideration and discussion of reports and presentations made to the board throughout the year and having appropriate and effective processes in place for all decision-making.

By considering the Company’s purpose, vison and values, together with its strategic priorities and its desire to ensure a high standard of business conduct is maintained at all times, the directors aim to ensure that decisions are consistent and fair in all circumstances, taking into account the Company’s relationships with and views of all of its stakeholders including its suppliers, contractors, customers, members and ultimate shareholders, local community, government and regulators. The Company does not have any employees with management and operation of the assets outsourced to contractors.

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Strategic Report for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

The perspectives, insights and opinions of stakeholders are recognised as being key to effective operational, investment and business decision making by the Company and its directors to ensure that decisions are fair, proportionate and sustainable. The mechanisms in place to assist the directors in understanding the relevant views of its stakeholders comprise collation and review of information from a range of different sources including specific reports and presentations on financial and operational performance, environmental, social & governance matters and the outcomes of specific engagements of work commissioned by the directors with the intended outcome being a rounded understanding of stakeholder priorities, issues and concerns.

Approved and authorised by the Board on 28 August 2026 and signed on its behalf by:
 

.........................................
T Cunningham
Director

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Directors' Report for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

The directors present their report and the financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2025.

Directors of the company

The directors who held office during the year were as follows:

J Sherman (resigned 10 January 2025)

M Panfili

T Cunningham (appointed 10 January 2025)

Financial instruments

Objectives and policies

The company continues to prioritise maintaining consistent production and financial results. Revenues for 2026 is expected to be similar due to market factors and allowing for greater investment into the assets.

Price risk, credit risk, liquidity risk and cash flow risk

The directors of the company believe these are low risk. The company has a healthy cash reserve. A fixed price Power Purchase Agreement is in place until 2026. Payments for generation are received monthly.

Disclosure of information to the auditors

Each director has taken steps that they ought to have taken as a director in order to make themselves aware of any relevant audit information and to establish that the company's auditors are aware of that information. The directors confirm that there is no relevant information that they know of and of which they know the auditors are unaware.

Reappointment of auditors

The auditors Morris & Young, Statutory Auditor are deemed to be reappointed under section 487(2) of the Companies Act 2006.

Approved and authorised by the Board on 28 August 2026 and signed on its behalf by:
 

.........................................
T Cunningham
Director

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Statement of Directors' Responsibilities

The directors acknowledge their responsibilities for preparing the Annual Report and the financial statements in accordance with applicable law and regulations.

Company law requires the directors to prepare financial statements for each financial year. Under that law the directors have elected to prepare the financial statements in accordance with United Kingdom Generally Accepted Accounting Practice (United Kingdom Accounting Standards and applicable law). Under company law the directors must not approve the financial statements unless they are satisfied that they give a true and fair view of the state of affairs of the company and of the profit or loss of the company for that period. In preparing these financial statements, the directors are required to:

select suitable accounting policies and apply them consistently;

make judgements and accounting estimates that are reasonable and prudent;

state whether applicable United Kingdom Accounting Standards have been followed, subject to any material departures disclosed and explained in the financial statements; and

prepare the financial statements on the going concern basis unless it is inappropriate to presume that the company will continue in business.

The directors are responsible for keeping adequate accounting records that are sufficient to show and explain the company's transactions and disclose with reasonable accuracy at any time the financial position of the company and enable them to ensure that the financial statements comply with the Companies Act 2006. They are also responsible for safeguarding the assets of the company and hence for taking reasonable steps for the prevention and detection of fraud and other irregularities.

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Independent Auditor's Report to the Members of Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Opinion

We have audited the financial statements of Kinlochleven Power Ltd (the 'company') for the year ended 31 December 2025, which comprise the Statement of Income and Retained Earnings, Statement of Financial Position, Statement of Changes in Equity, Statement of Cash Flows, and Notes to the Financial Statements, including a summary of significant accounting policies. The financial reporting framework that has been applied in their preparation is applicable law and United Kingdom Accounting Standards, including Financial Reporting Standard 102 The Financial Reporting Standard applicable in the UK and Republic of Ireland (United Kingdom Generally Accepted Accounting Practice).

In our opinion the financial statements:

give a true and fair view of the state of the company's affairs as at 31 December 2025 and of its profit for the year then ended;

have been properly prepared in accordance with United Kingdom Generally Accepted Accounting Practice; and

have been prepared in accordance with the requirements of the Companies Act 2006.

Basis for opinion

We conducted our audit in accordance with International Standards on Auditing (UK) (ISAs (UK)) and applicable law. Our responsibilities under those standards are further described in the auditor responsibilities for the audit of the financial statements section of our report. We are independent of the company in accordance with the ethical requirements that are relevant to our audit of the financial statements in the UK, including the FRC’s Ethical Standard, and we have fulfilled our other ethical responsibilities in accordance with these requirements. We believe that the audit evidence we have obtained is sufficient and appropriate to provide a basis for our opinion.

Conclusions relating to going concern

In auditing the financial statements, we have concluded that the director's use of the going concern basis of accounting in the preparation of the financial statements is appropriate.

Based on the work we have performed, we have not identified any material uncertainties relating to events or conditions that, individually or collectively, may cast significant doubt on the company's ability to continue as a going concern for a period of at least twelve months from when the original financial statements were authorised for issue.

Our responsibilities and the responsibilities of the directors with respect to going concern are described in the relevant sections of this report.

Other information

The directors are responsible for the other information. The other information comprises the information included in the annual report, other than the financial statements and our auditor’s report thereon. Our opinion on the financial statements does not cover the other information and, except to the extent otherwise explicitly stated in our report, we do not express any form of assurance conclusion thereon.

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Independent Auditor's Report to the Members of Kinlochleven Power Ltd

In connection with our audit of the financial statements, our responsibility is to read the other information and, in doing so, consider whether the other information is materially inconsistent with the financial statements or our knowledge obtained in the audit or otherwise appears to be materially misstated. If we identify such material inconsistencies or apparent material misstatements, we are required to determine whether there is a material misstatement in the financial statements or a material misstatement of the other information. If, based on the work we have performed, we conclude that there is a material misstatement of this other information, we are required to report that fact.

We have nothing to report in this regard.

Opinion on other matter prescribed by the Companies Act 2006

In our opinion, based on the work undertaken in the course of the audit:

the information given in the Strategic Report and Directors' Report for the financial year for which the financial statements are prepared is consistent with the financial statements; and

the Strategic Report and Directors' Report have been prepared in accordance with applicable legal requirements.

Matters on which we are required to report by exception

In the light of our knowledge and understanding of the company and its environment obtained in the course of the audit, we have not identified material misstatements in the Strategic Report and the Directors' Report.

We have nothing to report in respect of the following matters where the Companies Act 2006 requires us to report to you if, in our opinion:

adequate accounting records have not been kept, or returns adequate for our audit have not been received from branches not visited by us; or

the financial statements are not in agreement with the accounting records and returns; or

certain disclosures of directors' remuneration specified by law are not made; or

we have not received all the information and explanations we require for our audit.

Responsibilities of directors

As explained more fully in the Statement of Directors' Responsibilities [set out on page 7], the directors are responsible for the preparation of the financial statements and for being satisfied that they give a true and fair view, and for such internal control as the directors determine is necessary to enable the preparation of financial statements that are free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error.

In preparing the financial statements, the directors are responsible for assessing the company's ability to continue as a going concern, disclosing, as applicable, matters related to going concern and using the going concern basis of accounting unless the directors either intend to liquidate the company or to cease operations, or have no realistic alternative but to do so.

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Independent Auditor's Report to the Members of Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Auditor Responsibilities for the audit of the financial statements

Our objectives are to obtain reasonable assurance about whether the financial statements as a whole are free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error, and to issue an auditor’s report that includes our opinion. Reasonable assurance is a high level of assurance, but is not a guarantee that an audit conducted in accordance with ISAs (UK) will always detect a material misstatement when it exists. Misstatements can arise from fraud or error and are considered material if, individually or in the aggregate, they could reasonably be expected to influence the economic decisions of users taken on the basis of these financial statements.

Irregularities, including fraud, are instances of non-compliance with laws and regulations. We design procedures in line with our responsibilities, outlined above, to detect material misstatements in respect of irregularities, including fraud. The extent to which our procedures are capable of detecting irregularities, including fraud is detailed below:

We considered the opportunities that may exist within the organisation for fraud and identified the greatest potential for irregularities to occur is in relation to revenue recognition. In common with all audits under ISAs (UK), we are also required to perform specific procedures to respond to the risk of management override. We also obtained an understanding of the legal and regulatory frameworks that the company operates in, focusing on provisions of those laws and regulations that had a direct effect on the determination of material amounts and disclosures in the financial statements. The key laws and regulations we considered in this context included the Companies Act 2006, UK tax legislation, employment, environmental and health and safety legislation.

We communicated relevant identified laws and regulations and potential fraud risks to all engagement team members at planning and reminded them to remain alert to any indications of fraud or noncompliance with laws and regulations throughout the audit.

Our procedures to respond to risks identified included the following:
. reviewing the financial statement disclosures and testing to supporting documentation to assess compliance with provisions of relevant laws and regulations described as having a direct effect on the financial statements;
. enquiring of directors concerning actual and potential litigation and claims;
. we gained an understanding of the controls that the directors have in place to prevent and detect fraud. We enquired of the directors about any incidences of fraud that had taken place during the year;
. performing analytical procedures to identify any unusual or unexpected relationships that may indicate risks of material misstatement due to fraud;
. testing of the completeness and correct allocation of revenue in the year;
. reading minutes of meetings of those charged with governance;
. in addressing the risk of fraud through management override of controls, testing the appropriateness of journal entries and other adjustments;
. assessing whether the judgements made in making accounting estimates are indicative of a potential bias;
. and evaluating the business rationale of any significant transactions that are unusual or outside the normal course of business.

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Independent Auditor's Report to the Members of Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Due to the inherent limitations of an audit, there is an unavoidable risk that we may not have detected some material misstatements in the financial statements, even though we have properly planned and performed our audit in accordance with auditing standards. As with any audit, there remains a higher risk of non-detection of irregularities, as these may involve collusion, forgery, intentional omissions, misrepresentations, or the override of internal controls. We are not responsible for preventing fraud or non-compliance with laws and regulations and cannot be expected to detect all fraud and non-compliance with laws and regulations.
 

A further description of our responsibilities is available on the Financial Reporting Council’s website at: www.frc.org.uk/auditorsresponsibilities. This description forms part of our auditor’s report.

Use of our report
This report is made solely to the company’s members, as a body, in accordance with Chapter 3 of Part 16 of the Companies Act 2006. Our audit work has been undertaken so that we might state to the company’s members those matters we are required to state to them in an auditor’s report and for no other purpose. To the fullest extent permitted by law, we do not accept or assume responsibility to anyone other than the company and the company’s members as a body, for our audit work, for this report, or for the opinions we have formed.

......................................
Mr Peter Young, B.A., C.A. (Senior Statutory Auditor)
For and on behalf of Morris & Young, Statutory Auditor

Chartered Accountants
6 Atholl Crescent
Perth
PH1 5JN

28 August 2026

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Statement of Income and Retained Earnings for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

Note

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Turnover

3

22,732,670

39,029,869

Cost of sales

 

(13,981,219)

(11,501,291)

Gross profit

 

8,751,451

27,528,578

Administrative expenses

 

(404,242)

(279,641)

Operating profit

4

8,347,209

27,248,937

Other interest receivable and similar income

5

244,223

464,493

Interest payable and similar charges

6

(7,125,673)

(7,039,497)

 

(6,881,450)

(6,575,004)

Profit before tax

 

1,465,759

20,673,933

Taxation

9

(1,262,361)

(4,887,491)

Profit for the financial year

 

203,398

15,786,442

Retained earnings brought forward

 

14,471,427

25,525,362

Dividends paid

 

(10,628,916)

(26,840,377)

Retained earnings carried forward

 

4,045,909

14,471,427

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

(Registration number: SC552928)
Statement of Financial Position as at 31 December 2025

Note

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Fixed assets

 

Tangible assets

10

120,769,916

124,622,819

Current assets

 

Debtors

11

7,931,481

9,027,456

Cash at bank and in hand

 

2,841,231

9,148,340

 

10,772,712

18,175,796

Creditors: Amounts falling due within one year

13

(104,777,159)

(104,813,609)

Net current liabilities

 

(94,004,447)

(86,637,813)

Total assets less current liabilities

 

26,765,469

37,985,006

Provisions for liabilities

14

(22,719,557)

(23,513,576)

Net assets

 

4,045,912

14,471,430

Capital and reserves

 

Called up share capital

3

3

Retained earnings

16

4,045,909

14,471,427

Shareholders' funds

 

4,045,912

14,471,430

Approved and authorised by the Board on 28 August 2026 and signed on its behalf by:
 

.........................................
T Cunningham
Director

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Statement of Changes in Equity for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

Share capital
£

Retained earnings
£

Total
£

At 1 January 2025

3

14,471,427

14,471,430

Profit for the year

-

203,398

203,398

Dividends

-

(10,628,916)

(10,628,916)

At 31 December 2025

3

4,045,909

4,045,912

Share capital
£

Retained earnings
£

Total
£

At 1 January 2024

3

25,525,362

25,525,365

Profit for the year

-

15,786,442

15,786,442

Dividends

-

(26,840,377)

(26,840,377)

At 31 December 2024

3

14,471,427

14,471,430

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Statement of Cash Flows for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

Note

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Cash flows from operating activities

Profit for the year

 

203,398

15,786,442

Adjustments to cash flows from non-cash items

 

Depreciation and amortisation

4

3,854,538

3,831,149

Finance income

5

(244,223)

(464,493)

Finance costs

6

7,125,673

7,039,497

Income tax expense

9

1,262,361

4,887,491

 

12,201,747

31,080,086

Working capital adjustments

 

Decrease in trade debtors

11

1,095,975

1,850,562

(Decrease)/increase in trade creditors

13

(462,159)

148,714

Cash generated from operations

 

12,835,563

33,079,362

Income taxes paid

9

(1,630,671)

(4,467,886)

Net cash flow from operating activities

 

11,204,892

28,611,476

Cash flows from investing activities

 

Interest received

5

244,223

464,493

Acquisitions of tangible assets

(1,635)

(1,357,285)

Proceeds from sale of tangible assets

 

-

1,042,371

Net cash flows from investing activities

 

242,588

149,579

Cash flows from financing activities

 

Interest paid

6

(7,125,673)

(7,039,497)

Dividends paid

18

(10,628,916)

(26,840,377)

Net cash flows from financing activities

 

(17,754,589)

(33,879,874)

Net decrease in cash and cash equivalents

 

(6,307,109)

(5,118,819)

Cash and cash equivalents at 1 January

 

9,148,340

14,267,159

Cash and cash equivalents at 31 December

 

2,841,231

9,148,340

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

1

General information

The company is a private company limited by share capital, incorporated in Scotland.

The address of its registered office is:
1st Floor Cef Building
Inveralmond Road
Inveralmond Industrial Estate
Perth
PH1 3TW

The principal place of business is:
Kinlochleven Power Station
Fort William
PH33 6TH
Scotland

These financial statements were authorised for issue by the Board on 28 August 2026.

2

Accounting policies

Summary of significant accounting policies and key accounting estimates

The principal accounting policies applied in the preparation of these financial statements are set out below. These policies have been consistently applied to all the years presented, unless otherwise stated.

Statement of compliance

These financial statements were prepared in accordance with Financial Reporting Standard 102 'The Financial Reporting Standard applicable in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland and the Companies Act 2006'.

Basis of preparation

These financial statements have been prepared using the historical cost convention except that as disclosed in the accounting policies certain items are shown at fair value.

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

Going concern

The directors have assessed the financial position of the company, including its operational performance, funding arrangements, and future cash flow projections. Based on this assessment, the directors have a reasonable expectation that the company will continue in operational existence for the foreseeable future and have therefore adopted the going concern basis in preparing the financial statements.

The company operates a hydroelectric generation scheme with power purchase agreements in place, providing predictable revenue streams. The directors have considered potential risks including variations in water flow, maintenance requirements, and regulatory changes. Stress testing and scenario analysis have been undertaken to evaluate the impact of adverse conditions.

The company maintains sufficient liquidity and has access to technical and operational support to ensure continuity of generation. No material uncertainties have been identified that would cast significant doubt on the company’s ability to continue as a going concern.

Judgements

Fair value of assets acquired: On the acquisition of the hydropower business, in accordance with accounting standards, the company has recognised the land & building and plant & machinery acquired at fair value. In deriving the valuation of the property, plant and equipment, which is judgemental, the directors sought the expertise of separate external valuer who have valued the land and buildings, and plant and equipment. Due to their specialised nature, these assets are treated as a cash generating unit revalued by discounting their future cash flows.

Useful lives of property, plant and equipment: Management have based the useful life of the assets as 40 years which is the expected life of the hydropower cash generating capability according to the external valuation. Any changes in estimates may affect the carrying amounts of the respective property, plant and equipment with a corresponding effect on the related depreciation charge.

Revenue recognition

Revenue is recognised at the fair value of the consideration received or receivable for goods and services provided in the normal course of business, and is shown net of VAT and other sales related taxes. The fair value of consideration takes into account trade discounts, settlement discounts and volume rebates.

Revenue from the sale of goods is recognised when the significant risk and rewards of ownership of the goods have passed to the buyer (usually on consumption of electricity), the amount of revenue can be measured reliably, it is probable that the economic benefits associated with the transaction will flow to the entity and the costs incurred or to be incurred in respect of the transaction can be measured reliably.

Tax

The tax expense for the period comprises current and deferred tax. Tax is recognised in profit or loss, except that a change attributable to an item of income or expense recognised as other comprehensive income is also recognised directly in other comprehensive income.

The current income tax charge is calculated on the basis of tax rates and laws that have been enacted or substantively enacted by the reporting date in the countries where the company operates and generates taxable income.

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

Deferred tax is recognised in respect of all timing differences between taxable profits and profits reported in the financial statements.

Unrelieved tax losses and other deferred tax assets are recognised when it is probable that they will be recovered against the reversal of deferred tax liabilities or other future taxable profits.

Deferred tax is measured using the tax rates and laws that have been enacted or substantively enacted by the reporting date and that are expected to apply to the reversal of the timing difference.

Tangible assets

Tangible assets are stated in the statement of financial position at cost, less any subsequent accumulated depreciation and subsequent accumulated impairment losses.

The cost of tangible assets includes directly attributable incremental costs incurred in their acquisition and installation.

Depreciation

Depreciation is charged so as to write off the cost of assets, other than land and properties under construction over their estimated useful lives, as follows:

Asset class

Depreciation method and rate

Leasehold Property

Straight line method over 40 years useful life

Plant and equipment

Straight line method over 40 years useful life

Fixtures and fittings

Straight line over 3 years

Cash and cash equivalents

Cash and cash equivalents comprise cash on hand and call deposits, and other short-term highly liquid investments that are readily convertible to a known amount of cash and are subject to an insignificant risk of change in value.

Trade debtors

Trade debtors are amounts due from customers for merchandise sold or services performed in the ordinary course of business.

Trade debtors are recognised initially at the transaction price. They are subsequently measured less provision for impairment. A provision for the impairment of trade debtors is established when there is objective evidence that the company will not be able to collect all amounts due according to the original terms of the receivables.

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

Trade creditors

Trade creditors are obligations to pay for goods or services that have been acquired in the ordinary course of business from suppliers. Accounts payable are classified as current liabilities if the company does not have an unconditional right, at the end of the reporting period, to defer settlement of the creditor for at least twelve months after the reporting date. If there is an unconditional right to defer settlement for at least twelve months after the reporting date, they are presented as non-current liabilities.

Trade creditors are recognised initially at the transaction price.

Borrowings

Interest-bearing borrowings are initially recorded at fair value, net of transaction costs. Interest-bearing borrowings are subsequently carried at amortised cost, with the difference between the proceeds, net of transaction costs, and the amount due on redemption being recognised as a charge to the Profit and Loss Account over the period of the relevant borrowing.

Interest expense is recognised on the basis of the effective interest method and is included in interest payable and similar charges.

Borrowings are classified as current liabilities unless the company has an unconditional right to defer settlement of the liability for at least twele months after the reporting date.

Leases

Leases in which substantially all the risks and rewards of ownership are retained by the lessor are classified as operating leases. Payments made under operating leases are charged to profit or loss on a straight-line basis over the period of the lease.

Share capital

Ordinary shares are classified as equity. Equity instruments are measured at the fair value of the cash or other resources received or receivable, net of the direct costs of issuing the equity instruments. If payment is deferred and the time value of money is material, the initial measurement is on a present value basis.

Dividends

Dividend distribution to the company’s shareholders is recognised as a liability in the financial statements in the reporting period in which the dividends are declared.

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

3

Turnover

The analysis of the company's Turnover for the year from continuing operations is as follows:

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Energy sales

22,732,670

39,029,869

The analysis of the company's turnover for the year by class of business is as follows:

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Energy sales

22,732,670

39,029,869

The analysis of the company's Turnover for the year by market is as follows:

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

UK

22,732,670

39,029,869

4

Operating profit

Arrived at after charging/(crediting)

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Depreciation expense

3,854,538

3,831,149

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

5

Other interest receivable and similar income

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Interest income on bank deposits

45,171

257,351

Other finance income

199,052

207,142

244,223

464,493

6

Interest payable and similar expenses

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Interest expense on other finance liabilities

7,125,673

7,039,497

7

Staff costs

The average number of persons employed by the company (including directors) during the year, analysed by category was as follows:

31 December
2025
No.

31 December
2024
No.

Administration and support

2

2

2

2

8

Auditors' remuneration

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Audit of the financial statements

13,625

14,490


 

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

9

Taxation

Tax charged/(credited) in the profit and loss account

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Current taxation

UK corporation tax

2,117,508

5,590,442

UK corporation tax adjustment to prior periods

(61,128)

(2,512)

2,056,380

5,587,930

Deferred taxation

Arising from origination and reversal of timing differences

(794,019)

(700,439)

Tax expense in the income statement

1,262,361

4,887,491

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

The tax on profit before tax for the year is the same as the standard rate of corporation tax in the UK (2024 - the same as the standard rate of corporation tax in the UK) of 25% (2024 - 25%).

The differences are reconciled below:

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Profit before tax

1,465,759

20,673,933

Corporation tax at standard rate

366,440

5,168,483

Decrease in UK and foreign current tax from adjustment for prior periods

(61,128)

(2,512)

Tax increase from effect of capital allowances and depreciation

949,421

866,957

Tax decrease from other short-term timing differences

(794,019)

(700,439)

Effect of expense not deductible in determining taxable profit (tax loss)

801,647

445,576

Decrease from tax losses for which no deferred tax asset was recognised

-

(824,517)

Tax decrease arising from group relief

-

(66,057)

Total tax charge

1,262,361

4,887,491

Deferred tax

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

Deferred tax assets and liabilities

2025

Asset
£

Liability
£

Accelerated capital allowances

-

24,848,476

Short term timing differences - trading

632,904

-

Short term timing differences - non trading

1,496,015

-

2,128,919

24,848,476

2024

Asset
£

Liability
£

Accelerated capital allowances

-

25,642,495

Short term timing differences - trading

632,904

-

Short term timing differences - non trading

1,496,015

-

2,128,919

25,642,495

The amount of the net reversal of deferred tax assets and deferred tax liabilities expected to occur during the year beginning after the reporting period is £2,128,919 (2024 - £2,128,919).

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

10

Tangible assets

Land and buildings
£

Furniture, fittings and equipment
 £

Total
£

Cost or valuation

At 1 January 2025

27,440,500

126,575,374

154,015,874

Additions

-

1,635

1,635

At 31 December 2025

27,440,500

126,577,009

154,017,509

Depreciation

At 1 January 2025

5,260,679

24,132,376

29,393,055

Charge for the year

685,268

3,169,270

3,854,538

At 31 December 2025

5,945,947

27,301,646

33,247,593

Carrying amount

At 31 December 2025

21,494,553

99,275,363

120,769,916

At 31 December 2024

22,179,821

102,442,998

124,622,819

Included within the net book value of land and buildings above is £ £21,449,553 (2024 - £22,179,821) in respect of long leasehold land and buildings.
 

11

Debtors

Current

Note

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Trade debtors

 

4,350,704

4,882,871

Amounts owed by related parties

20

1,925,787

2,925,787

Prepayments

 

1,654,990

1,218,798

   

7,931,481

9,027,456

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

12

Cash and cash equivalents

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Cash at bank

2,704,844

5,057,124

Short-term deposits

136,387

4,091,216

2,841,231

9,148,340

13

Creditors

Note

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Due within one year

 

Trade creditors

 

1,310,709

813,231

Amounts due to related parties

20

102,043,185

102,608,292

Social security and other taxes

 

575,631

1,010,931

Accruals

 

159,616

118,846

Income tax liability

9

688,018

262,309

 

104,777,159

104,813,609

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

14

Provisions for liabilities

Deferred tax
£

Total
£

At 1 January 2025

23,513,576

23,513,576

Increase (decrease) in existing provisions

(794,019)

(794,019)

At 31 December 2025

22,719,557

22,719,557

15

Share capital

Allotted, called up and fully paid shares

31 December
2025

31 December
2024

No.

£

No.

£

Ordinary shares of £1 each

3

3

3

3

       

Rights, preferences and restrictions

Ordinary shares have the following rights, preferences and restrictions:
Each share is entitled to voting rights. There are no restrictions on the distributions of dividends and the repayment of capital.

16

Reserves

Called up share capital

represents the nominal value of shares that have been issued.

Profit and loss account

includes current and prior period retained profits and losses.

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

17

Obligations under leases and hire purchase contracts

Operating leases

The total of future minimum lease payments is as follows:

31 December
2025
£

31 December
2024
£

Not later than one year

10,000

10,000

Later than one year and not later than five years

40,000

40,000

Later than five years

500,000

510,000

550,000

560,000

The amount of non-cancellable operating lease payments recognised as an expense during the year was £12,368 (2024 - £12,494).

18

Dividends

31 December
2025

31 December
2024

£

£

Interim dividend of £3,542,972 (2024 - £8,946,792) per ordinary share

10,628,916

26,840,377

 

 

19

Analysis of changes in net debt

At 1 January 2025
£

Financing cash flows
£

At 31 December 2025
£

Cash and cash equivalents

Cash

9,148,340

(6,307,109)

2,841,231

 

9,148,340

(6,307,109)

2,841,231

 

Kinlochleven Power Ltd

Notes to the Financial Statements for the Year Ended 31 December 2025

20

Related party transactions

Summary of transactions with parent

The company has taken advantage of the exemption contained in FRS 102 and has not disclosed transactions entered into with wholly owned group companies.
 

Summary of transactions with subsidiaries

The company has taken advantage of the exemption contained in FRS 102 and has not disclosed transactions entered into with wholly owned group companies.
 

21

Parent and ultimate parent undertaking

The ultimate parent entity, Equitix Fund VI LP, does not prepare consolidated accounts as it meets the criteria of an Investment Entity under IFRS10.

 The company's immediate parent is KLL Holdings Ltd, incorporated in Scotland.

 The ultimate parent is Equitix Fund VI LP, incorporated in England.

 The most senior parent entity producing publicly available financial statements is Equitix Capital Eurobond 6 Limited. These financial statements are available upon request from Companies House, Crown Way, Cardiff, CF14 3UZ.

 

The parent of the largest group in which these finanical statements are consolidated is KLL Holidngs Ltd, incorporated in Scotland.

The address of KLL Holdings Ltd is:
1st Floor, Inveralmond Road, Inveralmond Industrial Estate, Perth. PH1 3TW.