Company registration number 01236981 (England and Wales)
J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
ANNUAL REPORT AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
COMPANY INFORMATION
Directors
Mark Mullen
Steve Jones
(Appointed 2 June 2025)
Secretary
Inca Lockhart-Ross
Company number
01236981
Registered office
Britain Works Greengate Industrial Estate
Greenside Way
Middleton
Manchester
M24 1SW
Auditor
Grant Thornton (NI) LLP
Chartered Accountants & Statutory Auditors
12-15 Donegall Square West
Belfast
BT1 6JH
J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
CONTENTS
Page
Strategic report
1
Directors' report
2 - 3
Independent auditor's report
4 - 7
Statement of comprehensive income
8
Statement of financial position
9
Statement of changes in equity
10
Notes to the financial statements
11 - 24
J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
STRATEGIC REPORT
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 1 -

The directors present the strategic report for the year ended 31 December 2025.

Business review and future developments

The company has undergone further restructuring in the period to ensure improved alignment with needs of existing and key target markets and customers.  The Directors are confident that as a result of this work and further key recruitments the company is now well positioned to progressively improve its performance going forward.

The company achieved an operating profit of £1,170 (2024: £409,822) in the year and has a net liability position at the balance sheet date. While this position presents certain challenges, the Directors have implemented a series of measures designed to strengthen the balance sheet. These include cost reduction initiatives, revenue growth strategies, and ongoing engagement with its parent company to ensure continued financial support where required.

The directors will continue to maintain a strong focus on operational continuous improvement projects and development of new strategic accounts and are confident this approach will deliver further significant improvements in the operating profit performance in the next year.

Principal risks and uncertainties

With a strong market share in specialist engineering services associated with safety critical energy, transportation and process industries, the company is significantly less exposed to the commercial risks that could arise from a wider economic downturn.

However, the directors continue to monitor the overall industrial activity and specific sector trends as one of their leading metrics.

 

The company’s activities expose itself to a number of risks including credit risk, interest rate risk and cashflow risk. To mitigate these risks the company utilises external working capital funding through a factoring facility and operates a robust cash flow forecasting process.

 

Key performance indicators

The key performance indicator is operating profit disclosed in the paragraph above.

 

The company has maintained a positive cash position throughout the year.

Energy Consumption and Carbon Reduction

 

The company is focused on its obligation to reduce energy consumption and its carbon emissions and routinely measures it performance against this objective.

 

Employee Development

 

The company recognises the importance of development of staff at all levels in the organisation. Staff are encouraged to utilise further training programs to assist future personal and career development. The company has an active approved apprenticeship schemes in place and continues to recruit through this route.

This report was approved by the board of directors and authorised for issue on 31 March 2026 and signed on its behalf by:
Mark Mullen
Director
31 March 2026
J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
DIRECTORS' REPORT
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 2 -

The directors present their annual report and audited financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2025.

Principal activities

The principal activity of the company is the supply and manufacture of gaskets, seals and advanced sealing solutions to companies in key strategic market sectors including thermal power generation, petrochemicals, defense and marine. In addition the company is a leading provider of PTFE Polymer materials for specialist applications in the food and pharmaceutical industries. The company operates from two sites within the UK, Manchester and Cardiff.

Results and dividends

The results for the year are set out on page 8.

No ordinary dividends were paid. The directors do not recommend payment of a final dividend.

Directors

The directors who held office during the year and up to the date of signature of the financial statements were as follows:

Keith Shepherd
(Resigned 2 June 2025)
Mark Mullen
Steve Jones
(Appointed 2 June 2025)
Financial instruments
Financial risk management objectives and polices

 

The company’s operations expose it to a variety of financial risks that include the effects of changes in debt market prices, foreign currency risks, credit risk, liquidity risk and interest rate risk. The Company has in place a risk management programme that seeks to limit the effects on the financial performance of the company by monitoring levels of debt finance and related finance costs.

 

Given the size of the Company, the directors have not delegated the responsibility of monitoring financial risk management to a sub-committee of the board. These policies are implemented by the finance department.

Liquidity risk

 

The Company actively maintains short term debt finance that is designed to ensure the Company has sufficient available funds for operations and planned expansions.

Interest rate risk

 

The Company has interest bearing liabilities which bear interest at variable rates which expose it to interest rate cash flow risk. The risk is mitigated by the Company’s cash balances. The directors revisit the appropriateness of this policy when operations change in size or in nature.

Currency risk

 

The Company uses financial instruments to manage exposure to foreign exchange exposure, in the normal course of business.

Price risk

 

The company has a limited exposure to commodity price risk on its input raw material side in certain areas, however, this is risk proactively monitored and managed on a routine basis by the Directors and the Operations team. The directors regularly review the effectiveness of this approach.

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
DIRECTORS' REPORT (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 3 -
Post reporting date events

There have been no significant events affecting the company since the year end.

Auditor

The auditors, Grant Thornton (NI) LLP, continue in office in accordance with section 485 of the Companies Act 2006.

Statement of directors' responsibilities

The directors are responsible for preparing the annual report and the financial statements in accordance with applicable law and regulations.

Company law requires the directors to prepare financial statements for each financial year. Under that law the directors have elected to prepare the financial statements in accordance with United Kingdom Generally Accepted Accounting Practice (United Kingdom Accounting Standards and applicable law). Under company law, the directors must not approve the financial statements unless they are satisfied that they give a true and fair view of the state of affairs of the company and of the profit or loss of the company for that period.

In preparing these financial statements, the directors are required to:

The directors are responsible for keeping adequate accounting records that are sufficient to show and explain the company’s transactions and disclose with reasonable accuracy at any time the financial position of the company and enable them to ensure that the financial statements comply with the Companies Act 2006. They are also responsible for safeguarding the assets of the company and hence for taking reasonable steps for the prevention and detection of fraud and other irregularities.

Strategic report

The company has chosen in accordance with Companies Act 2006, s. 414C(11) to set out in the company's strategic report information required by Large and Medium-sized Companies and Groups (Accounts and Reports) Regulations 2008, Sch. 7 to be contained in the directors' report. It has done so in respect of discussion of future developments.

Statement of disclosure to auditor

So far as each person who was a director at the date of approving this report is aware, there is no relevant audit information of which the company’s auditor is unaware. Additionally, the directors individually have taken all the necessary steps that they ought to have taken as directors in order to make themselves aware of all relevant audit information and to establish that the company’s auditor is aware of that information.

Medium-sized companies exemption

This report has been prepared in accordance with the provisions applicable to companies entitled to the medium companies exemption.

This report was approved by the board of directors and authorised for issue on 31 March 2026 and signed on its behalf by:
Mark Mullen
Director
31 March 2026
J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
INDEPENDENT AUDITOR'S REPORT
TO THE MEMBERS OF J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
- 4 -
Opinion

We have audited the financial statements of J.A. Harrison & Company (Manchester) Limited (“Company”), which comprise the Statement of comprehensive income, the Statement of financial position and the Statement of changes in equity for the year ended 31 December 2025, and the related notes to the financial statements, including a summary of significant accounting policies.

The financial reporting framework that has been applied in the preparation of the financial statements is applicable law and FRS 102 “The Financial Reporting Standard applicable in the UK and Republic of Ireland” (United Kingdom Generally Accepted Accounting Practice).

In our opinion, J.A. Harrison & Company (Manchester) Limited’s financial statements:

Basis for opinion

We conducted our audit in accordance with International Standards on Auditing (UK) (‘ISAs (UK)’) and applicable law. Our responsibilities under those standards are further described in the ‘Responsibilities of the auditor for the audit of the financial statements’ section of our report. We are independent of the Company in accordance with the ethical requirements that are relevant to our audit of the financial statements in the United Kingdom, including the FRC’s Ethical Standard and the ethical pronouncements established by Chartered Accountants Ireland, applied as determined to be appropriate in the circumstances for the entity. We have fulfilled our other ethical responsibilities in accordance with these requirements. We believe that the audit evidence we have obtained is sufficient and appropriate to provide a basis for our opinion.

Conclusions relating to going concern

In auditing the financial statements, we have concluded that the directors’ use of going concern basis of accounting in the preparation of the financial statements is appropriate.

Based on the work we have performed, we have not identified any material uncertainties relating to events or conditions that, individually or collectively, may cast significant doubt on the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern for a period of at least twelve months from the date when the financial statements are authorised for issue.

Our responsibilities and the responsibilities of the directors with respect to going concern are described in the relevant sections of this report.

Other information

Other information comprises information included in the annual report, other than the financial statements and our auditor’s report thereon, including the Directors’ Report and the Strategic Report. The directors are responsible for the other information. Our opinion on the financial statements does not cover the other information and, except to the extent otherwise explicitly stated in our report, we do not express any form of assurance conclusion thereon.

In connection with our audit of the financial statements, our responsibility is to read the other information and, in doing so, consider whether the other information is materially inconsistent with the financial statements or our knowledge obtained in the audit, or otherwise appears to be materially misstated. If we identify such material inconsistencies in the financial statements, we are required to determine whether there is a material misstatement in the financial statements or a material misstatement of the other information. If, based on the work we have performed, we conclude that there is a material misstatement of this other information, we are required to report that fact.

We have nothing to report in this regard.

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
INDEPENDENT AUDITOR'S REPORT
TO THE MEMBERS OF J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED (CONTINUED)
- 5 -

Opinions on other matters prescribed by the Companies Act 2006

In our opinion, based on the work undertaken in the course of the audit:

Matters on which we are required to report by exception

In the light of the knowledge and understanding of the company and its environment obtained in the course of the audit, we have not identified any material misstatements in the Strategic Report and the Directors’ Report. We have nothing to report in respect of the following matters where the Companies Act 2006 requires us to report to you if, in our opinion:

Responsibilities of management and those charged with governance for the financial statements

As explained more fully in the Directors' responsibilities statement, management is responsible for the preparation of the financial statements which give a true and fair view in accordance with United Kingdom Generally Accepted Accounting Practice, including FRS 102, and for such internal control as directors determine necessary to enable the preparation of financial statements are free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error.

In preparing the financial statements, management is responsible for assessing the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern, disclosing, as applicable, matters related to going concern and using the going concern basis of accounting unless management either intends to liquidate the company or to cease operations, or has no realistic alternative but to do so.

Those charged with governance are responsible for overseeing the Company’s financial reporting process.

Responsibilities of the auditor for the audit of the financial statements

The objectives of an auditor are to obtain reasonable assurance about whether the financial statements as a whole are free from material misstatement, whether due to fraud or error, and to issue an auditor’s report that includes their opinion. Reasonable assurance is a high level of assurance, but is not a guarantee that an audit conducted in accordance with ISAs (UK) will always detect a material misstatement when it exists. Misstatements can arise from fraud or error and are considered material if, individually or in the aggregate, they could reasonably be expected to influence the economic decisions of users taken on the basis of these financial statements.

A further description of an auditor’s responsibilities for the audit of the financial statements is located on the Financial Reporting Council’s website at: www.frc.org.uk/auditorsresponsibilities. This description forms part of our auditor’s report.

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
INDEPENDENT AUDITOR'S REPORT
TO THE MEMBERS OF J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED (CONTINUED)
- 6 -

Explanation as to what extent the audit was considered capable of detecting irregularities, including fraud

Irregularities, including fraud, are instances of non-compliance with laws and regulations. We design procedures in line with our responsibilities, outlined above, to detect material misstatements in respect of irregularities, including fraud. Owing to the inherent limitations of an audit, there is an unavoidable risk that material misstatement in the financial statements may not be detected, even though the audit is properly planned and performed in accordance with the ISAs (UK). The extent to which our procedures are capable of detecting irregularities, including fraud is detailed below.

Based on our understanding of the Company and industry, we identified that the principal risks of non-compliance with laws and regulations related to Data Privacy law, Employment Law and Health and safety laws, and we considered the extent to which non-compliance might have a material effect on the financial statements. We also considered those laws and regulations that have a direct impact on the preparation of the financial statements such as the Companies Act 2006 and UK tax legislation. The Audit engagement partner considered the experience and expertise of the engagement team to ensure that the team had appropriate competence and capabilities to identify or recognise non-compliance with the laws and regulation. We evaluated management’s incentives and opportunities for fraudulent manipulation of the financial statements (including the risk of override of controls), and determined that the principal risks were related to posting inappropriate journal entries to manipulate financial performance and management bias through judgements and assumptions in significant accounting estimates, in particular in relation to significant one-off or unusual transactions. We apply professional scepticism through the audit to consider potential deliberate omission or concealment of significant transactions, or incomplete/inaccurate disclosures in the financial statements.

In response to these principal risks, our audit procedures included but were not limited to:

The primary responsibility for the prevention and detection of irregularities including fraud rests with those charged with governance and management. As with any audit, there remains a risk of non-detection or irregularities, as these may involve collusion, forgery, intentional omissions, misrepresentations or override of internal controls.

 

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
INDEPENDENT AUDITOR'S REPORT
TO THE MEMBERS OF J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED (CONTINUED)
- 7 -

A further description of our responsibilities is available on the Financial Reporting Council’s website at: https://www.frc.org.uk/auditorsresponsibilities. This description forms part of our auditor's report.

The purpose of our audit work and to whom we owe our responsibilities

This report is made solely to the company’s members, as a body, in accordance with chapter 3 of Part 16 of the Companies Act 2006. Our audit work has been undertaken so that we might state to the company’s members those matters we are required to state to them in an auditor’s report and for no other purpose. To the fullest extent permitted by law, we do not accept or assume responsibility to anyone other than the company and the company’s members as a body, for our audit work, for this report, or for the opinions we have formed.

Ms Nikita Lynn (Senior Statutory Auditor)
For and on behalf of Grant Thornton (NI) LLP,
Chartered Accountants & Statutory Auditors
Belfast
31 March 2026
J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
STATEMENT OF COMPREHENSIVE INCOME
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 8 -
2025
2024
Notes
£
£
Turnover
3
6,883,366
8,618,604
Cost of sales
(4,256,978)
(5,609,550)
Gross profit
2,626,388
3,009,054
Administrative expenses
(2,594,980)
(2,649,663)
Other operating (expenses)/income
(30,238)
50,431
Operating profit
4
1,170
409,822
Interest receivable and similar income
75
161
Interest payable and similar expenses
8
(343,347)
(393,723)
(Loss)/profit before taxation
(342,102)
16,260
Tax on (loss)/profit
9
(16,771)
(35,087)
Loss for the financial year
(358,873)
(18,827)
Other comprehensive income
Revaluation of freehold property
190,847
-
0
Total comprehensive income for the year
(168,026)
(18,827)

The notes on pages 11 to 24 form part of these financial statements.

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
STATEMENT OF FINANCIAL POSITION
AS AT
31 DECEMBER 2025
31 December 2025
- 9 -
2025
2024
Notes
£
£
£
£
Fixed assets
Goodwill
10
56,104
76,104
Tangible assets
11
2,793,692
2,671,544
2,849,796
2,747,648
Current assets
Stocks
12
1,006,201
1,112,215
Debtors
13
1,539,819
1,683,523
Cash at bank and in hand
294,298
362,268
2,840,318
3,158,006
Creditors: amounts falling due within one year
14
(4,506,005)
(3,919,113)
Net current liabilities
(1,665,687)
(761,107)
Total assets less current liabilities
1,184,109
1,986,541
Creditors: amounts falling due after more than one year
15
(1,506,667)
(2,157,844)
Provisions for liabilities
Deferred tax liability
17
72,683
55,912
(72,683)
(55,912)
Net liabilities
(395,241)
(227,215)
Capital and reserves
Called up share capital
20
29,400
29,400
Share premium account
21
25,584
25,584
Revaluation reserve
21
190,847
-
0
Capital redemption reserve
21
41,683
41,683
Profit and loss reserves
21
(682,755)
(323,882)
Total equity
(395,241)
(227,215)

The notes on pages 11 to 24 form part of these financial statements.

The financial statements were approved by the board of directors and authorised for issue on 31 March 2026 and are signed on its behalf by:
Mark Mullen
Director
Company registration number 01236981 (England and Wales)
J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN EQUITY
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 10 -
Share capital
Share premium account
Revaluation reserve
Capital redemption reserve
Profit and loss reserves
Total
£
£
£
£
£
£
Balance at 1 January 2024
29,400
25,584
-
0
41,683
(305,055)
(208,388)
Year ended 31 December 2024:
Loss and total comprehensive income
-
-
-
-
(18,827)
(18,827)
Balance at 31 December 2024
29,400
25,584
-
0
41,683
(323,882)
(227,215)
Year ended 31 December 2025:
Loss and total comprehensive income
-
-
-
-
(358,873)
(358,873)
Other comprehensive income:
Revaluation of freehold property
-
-
190,847
-
-
190,847
Total comprehensive income
-
-
190,847
-
(358,873)
(168,026)
Balance at 31 December 2025
29,400
25,584
190,847
41,683
(682,755)
(395,241)

The notes on pages 11 to 24 form part of these financial statements.

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 11 -
1
Accounting policies
Company information

J.A. Harrison & Company (Manchester) Limited is a private company limited by shares incorporated in England and Wales. The registered office is Britain Works Greengate Industrial Estate, Greenside Way, Middleton, Manchester, M24 1SW.

1.1
Basis of preparation

These financial statements have been prepared in accordance with FRS 102 “The Financial Reporting Standard applicable in the UK and Republic of Ireland” (“FRS 102”) and the requirements of the Companies Act 2006.

The financial statements are prepared in sterling, which is the functional currency of the company. Monetary amounts in these financial statements are rounded to the nearest £.

The financial statements have been prepared under the historical cost convention except for the revaluation of freehold land and buildings which is measured at fair value. The principal accounting policies adopted are set out below.

This company is a qualifying entity for the purposes of FRS 102, being a member of a group where the parent of that group prepares publicly available consolidated financial statements, including this company, which are intended to give a true and fair view of the assets, liabilities, financial position and profit or loss of the group. The company has therefore taken advantage of exemptions from the following disclosure requirements:

 

 

The financial statements of the company are consolidated in the financial statements of Amcomri Group Plc. These consolidated financial statements are available from its registered office, 16/18 Beak Street, London, W1F 9RD.

 

1.2
Going concern

After reviewing the company’s forecasts and projections, the directors have a reasonable expectation that the company has adequate resources to continue in operational existence for the foreseeable future. These forecasts and projections have taken into account a plausible downside scenario in operational activities and include mitigating actions that could be implemented to ensure that the company’s working capital requirements are met.true

 

At the year end, the company had £2,870,993 of external borrowings, which are subject to certain financial covenants measured on a quarterly basis. There have been no breaches of these financial covenants. Based on the operational forecasts, together with the continued support of the company’s ultimate parent undertaking, Amcomri Group plc, the directors are confident that it is appropriate to adopt the going concern basis in preparing these financial statements.

1.3
Revenue

Revenue is recognised at the fair value of the consideration received or receivable for goods and services provided in the normal course of business, and is shown net of VAT and other sales related taxes. The fair value of consideration takes into account trade discounts, settlement discounts and volume rebates.

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
1
Accounting policies
(Continued)
- 12 -

Revenue from the sale of goods is recognised when the significant risks and rewards of ownership of the goods have passed to the buyer (usually on dispatch of the goods), the amount of revenue can be measured reliably, it is probable that the economic benefits associated with the transaction will flow to the entity and the costs incurred or to be incurred in respect of the transaction can be measured reliably.

1.4
Intangible fixed assets - goodwill

Goodwill represents the excess of the cost of acquisition of unincorporated businesses over the fair value of net assets acquired. It is initially recognised as an asset at cost and is subsequently measured at cost less accumulated amortisation and accumulated impairment losses. Goodwill is considered to have a finite useful life and is amortised on a systematic basis over its expected life at the rate of 3%.

 

For the purposes of impairment testing, goodwill is allocated to the cash-generating units expected to benefit from the acquisition. Cash-generating units to which goodwill has been allocated are tested for impairment at least annually, or more frequently when there is an indication that the unit may be impaired. If the recoverable amount of the cash-generating unit is less than the carrying amount of the unit, the impairment loss is allocated first to reduce the carrying amount of any goodwill allocated to the unit and then to the other assets of the unit pro-rata on the basis of the carrying amount of each asset in the unit.

1.5
Tangible fixed assets

Tangible fixed assets are initially measured at cost and subsequently measured at cost or valuation, net of depreciation and any impairment losses.

Depreciation is charged so as to allocate the cost of assets less their residual values over their estimated useful lives on the following bases:

Freehold land and buildings
2% straight line
Plant and equipment
1% - 33% straight line
Fixtures and fittings
10% - 50% straight line

The gain or loss arising on the disposal of an asset is determined as the difference between the sale proceeds and the carrying value of the asset, and is credited or charged to profit or loss.

Properties whose fair value can be measured reliably are held under the revaluation model and are carried at a revalued amount, being their fair value at the date of valuation less any subsequent accumulated depreciation and subsequent accumulated impairment losses. The fair value of the land and buildings is usually considered to be their market value.

 

Revaluation gains and losses are recognised in other comprehensive income and accumulated in equity, except to the extent that a revaluation gain reverses a revaluation loss previously recognised in profit or loss or a revaluation loss exceeds the accumulated revaluation gains recognised in equity; such gains and losses are recognised in profit or loss.

1.6
Stocks

Stocks are stated at the lower of cost and estimated selling price less costs to complete and sell. Cost comprises direct materials and, where applicable, direct labour costs and those overheads that have been incurred in bringing the stocks to their present location and condition.

Cost is based on the cost of purchase on a first in, first out basis.

1.7
Cash and cash equivalents

Cash and cash equivalents are basic financial assets and include cash in hand, deposits held at call with banks, other short-term liquid investments with original maturities of three months or less, and bank overdrafts. Bank overdrafts are shown within borrowings in current liabilities.

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
1
Accounting policies
(Continued)
- 13 -
1.8
Financial instruments

The company has elected to apply the provisions of Section 11 ‘Basic Financial Instruments’ and Section 12 ‘Other Financial Instruments Issues’ of FRS 102 to all of its financial instruments.

 

Financial instruments are recognised in the company's statement of financial position when the company becomes party to the contractual provisions of the instrument.

 

Financial assets and liabilities are offset, with the net amounts presented in the financial statements, when there is a legally enforceable right to set off the recognised amounts and there is an intention to settle on a net basis or to realise the asset and settle the liability simultaneously.

Basic financial assets

Basic financial assets, which include debtors and cash and bank balances, are initially measured at transaction price including transaction costs and are subsequently carried at amortised cost using the effective interest method unless the arrangement constitutes a financing transaction, where the transaction is measured at the present value of the future receipts discounted at a market rate of interest. Financial assets classified as receivable within one year are not amortised.

Other financial assets

Other financial assets, including investments in equity instruments which are not subsidiaries, associates or joint ventures, are initially measured at fair value, which is normally the transaction price. Such assets are subsequently carried at fair value and the changes in fair value are recognised in profit or loss, except that investments in equity instruments that are not publicly traded and whose fair values cannot be measured reliably are measured at cost less impairment.

Impairment of financial assets

Financial assets, other than those held at fair value through profit and loss, are assessed for indicators of impairment at each reporting end date.

 

Financial assets are impaired where there is objective evidence that, as a result of one or more events that occurred after the initial recognition of the financial asset, the estimated future cash flows have been affected. If an asset is impaired, the impairment loss is the difference between the carrying amount and the present value of the estimated cash flows discounted at the asset’s original effective interest rate. The impairment loss is recognised in profit or loss.

 

If there is a decrease in the impairment loss arising from an event occurring after the impairment was recognised, the impairment is reversed. The reversal is such that the current carrying amount does not exceed what the carrying amount would have been, had the impairment not previously been recognised. The impairment reversal is recognised in profit or loss.

Derecognition of financial assets

Financial assets are derecognised only when the contractual rights to the cash flows from the asset expire or are settled, or when the company transfers the financial asset and substantially all the risks and rewards of ownership to another entity, or if some significant risks and rewards of ownership are retained but control of the asset has transferred to another party that is able to sell the asset in its entirety to an unrelated third party.

Classification of financial liabilities

Financial liabilities and equity instruments are classified according to the substance of the contractual arrangements entered into. An equity instrument is any contract that evidences a residual interest in the assets of the company after deducting all of its liabilities.

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
1
Accounting policies
(Continued)
- 14 -
Basic financial liabilities

Basic financial liabilities, including creditors, bank loans, loans from fellow group companies and preference shares that are classified as debt, are initially recognised at transaction price unless the arrangement constitutes a financing transaction, where the debt instrument is measured at the present value of the future payments discounted at a market rate of interest. Financial liabilities classified as payable within one year are not amortised.

 

Debt instruments are subsequently carried at amortised cost, using the effective interest rate method.

 

Trade creditors are obligations to pay for goods or services that have been acquired in the ordinary course of business from suppliers. Amounts payable are classified as current liabilities if payment is due within one year or less. If not, they are presented as non-current liabilities. Trade creditors are recognised initially at transaction price and subsequently measured at amortised cost using the effective interest method.

Other financial liabilities

Derivatives, including interest rate swaps and forward foreign exchange contracts, are not basic financial instruments. Derivatives are initially recognised at fair value on the date a derivative contract is entered into and are subsequently re-measured at their fair value. Changes in the fair value of derivatives are recognised in profit or loss in finance costs or finance income as appropriate, unless hedge accounting is applied and the hedge is a cash flow hedge.

 

Debt instruments that do not meet the conditions in FRS 102 paragraph 11.9 are subsequently measured at fair value through profit or loss. Debt instruments may be designated as being measured at fair value through profit or loss to eliminate or reduce an accounting mismatch or if the instruments are measured and their performance evaluated on a fair value basis in accordance with a documented risk management or investment strategy.

Derecognition of financial liabilities

Financial liabilities are derecognised when the company’s contractual obligations expire or are discharged or cancelled.

1.9
Equity instruments

Equity instruments issued by the company are recorded at the proceeds received, net of transaction costs.

Dividends payable on equity instruments are recognised as liabilities once they are no longer at the discretion of the company.

1.10
Taxation

The tax expense represents the sum of the tax currently payable and deferred tax.

Current tax

The tax currently payable is based on taxable profit for the year. Taxable profit differs from net profit as reported in the income statement because it excludes items of income or expense that are taxable or deductible in other years and it further excludes items that are never taxable or deductible. The company’s liability for current tax is calculated using tax rates that have been enacted or substantively enacted by the reporting end date.

Deferred tax

Deferred tax liabilities are generally recognised for all timing differences and deferred tax assets are recognised to the extent that it is probable that they will be recovered against the reversal of deferred tax liabilities or other future taxable profits. Such assets and liabilities are not recognised if the timing difference arises from goodwill or from the initial recognition of other assets and liabilities in a transaction that affects neither the tax profit nor the accounting profit.

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
1
Accounting policies
(Continued)
- 15 -

The carrying amount of deferred tax assets is reviewed at each reporting end date and reduced to the extent that it is no longer probable that sufficient taxable profits will be available to allow all or part of the asset to be recovered. Deferred tax is calculated at the tax rates that are expected to apply in the period when the liability is settled or the asset is realised. Deferred tax is charged or credited in the income statement, except when it relates to items charged or credited directly to equity, in which case the deferred tax is also dealt with in equity. Deferred tax assets and liabilities are offset when the company has a legally enforceable right to offset current tax assets and liabilities and the deferred tax assets and liabilities relate to taxes levied by the same tax authority.

1.11
Retirement benefits

Payments to defined contribution retirement benefit schemes are charged as an expense as they fall due.

1.12
Leases
As lessee

Rentals payable under operating leases, including any lease incentives received, are charged to profit or loss on a straight line basis over the term of the relevant lease except where another more systematic basis is more representative of the time pattern in which economic benefits from the leases asset are consumed.

1.13
Government grants

Government grants are recognised at the fair value of the asset received or receivable when there is reasonable assurance that the grant conditions will be met and the grants will be received.

 

A grant that specifies performance conditions is recognised in income when the performance conditions are met. Where a grant does not specify performance conditions it is recognised in income when the proceeds are received or receivable. A grant received before the recognition criteria are satisfied is recognised as a liability.

1.14
Foreign exchange

Transactions in currencies other than pounds sterling are recorded at the rates of exchange prevailing at the dates of the transactions. At each reporting end date, monetary assets and liabilities that are denominated in foreign currencies are retranslated at the rates prevailing on the reporting end date. Gains and losses arising on translation in the period are included in profit or loss.

1.15

Interest Income

Interest income is recognised in profit or loss using the effective interest method.

1.16

Finance costs

Finance costs are charged to profit or loss over the term of the debt using the effective interest method so

that the amount charged is at a constant rate on the carrying amount. Issue costs are initially recognised as a

reduction in the proceeds of the associated capital instrument.

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 16 -
2
Judgements and key sources of estimation uncertainty

In the application of the company’s accounting policies, the directors are required to make judgements, estimates and assumptions about the carrying amount of assets and liabilities that are not readily apparent from other sources. The estimates and associated assumptions are based on historical experience and other factors that are considered to be relevant. Actual results may differ from these estimates.

 

The estimates and underlying assumptions are reviewed on an ongoing basis. Revisions to accounting estimates are recognised in the period in which the estimate is revised where the revision affects only that period, or in the period of the revision and future periods where the revision affects both current and future periods.

Critical judgements

The following judgements (apart from those involving estimates) have had the most significant effect on amounts recognised in the financial statements.

Useful life of assets

The annual depreciation charge depends primarily on the estimated lives of each type of asset. The Directors annually review these asset lives and adjust them as necessary to reflect current thinking of remaining useful lives in light of technological change, prospective economic utilisation and physical condition of the assets concerned. Changes in asset lives can have significant impact on depreciation charges for the period.

Valuation of freehold land and buildings

The fair value of the Company's freehold land and buildings is determined either by independent professional valuers or an informed, knowledgeable in-house expert on an annual basis. In determining the fair value, the valuers make a number of significant judgements and use assumptions that are based on market evidence at the reporting date. The valuation is inherently subjective due to the unique nature, location, and condition of the freehold land and buildings. The valuers' assessments are based on market data for comparable properties, adjusted for location, tenancy, and other factors specific to each asset. Any change to these assumptions could have a material impact on the carrying value of the investment property portfolio. Details of the valuation are disclosed in note 11.

Provision in respect of trade and other debtors

The company estimates the allowance for trade and other debtors based on assessment of specific accounts where the company has objective evidence comprising default in payment terms of significant financial difficulty that certain customers are unable to meet their financial obligations. In these cases, judgement is used on the best available facts and circumstances including, but not limited to, length of relationship and historical events.

Provision in respect of stock

The company makes a number of estimates that are subjective in nature, in respect of provisions for inventory whose carrying value may not be realized. The Company uses a variety of sources to determine provision rates against specific stock categories, including historical sales patterns, post year end performance and age. Any change in these factors would impact the provision for stock and would result in a change in the carrying value.

3
Turnover and other revenue

An analysis of the company's turnover is as follows:

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
3
Turnover and other revenue
(Continued)
- 17 -
2025
2024
£
£
Turnover analysed by geographical market
United Kingdom
5,906,835
7,449,270
Rest of Europe
240,588
468,571
Rest of the world
735,943
700,763
6,883,366
8,618,604
2025
2024
£
£
Other revenue
Interest income
75
161
4
Operating profit
2025
2024
Operating profit for the year is stated after charging/(crediting):
£
£
Exchange losses
16,751
-
0
Depreciation of tangible fixed assets
155,200
168,092
Profit on disposal of tangible fixed assets
(18,117)
(720)
Amortisation of intangible assets
20,000
20,000
Operating lease charges
58,621
59,223

The amortisation of intangible assets is included within administration expenses. Depreciation of tangible fixed costs include restructuring costs of £165,671 (2024: £Nil).

 

5
Auditor's remuneration
2025
2024
Fees payable to the company's auditor and associates:
£
£
For audit services
Audit of the financial statements of the company
26,580
26,400
J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 18 -
6
Employees

The average monthly number of persons employed by the company during the year was:

2025
2024
Number
Number
Management and admin
8
11
Sales and marketing
22
25
Production
30
34
Total
60
70

Their aggregate remuneration comprised:

2025
2024
£
£
Wages and salaries
2,226,500
2,346,001
Social security costs
247,005
235,615
Pension costs
71,980
155,218
2,545,485
2,736,834
7
Directors' remuneration
2025
2024
£
£
Remuneration for qualifying services
129,004
161,103
Company pension contributions to defined contribution schemes
-
1,321
129,004
162,424

The number of directors for whom retirement benefits are accruing under defined contribution schemes amounted to 0 (2024 - 1).

8
Interest payable and similar expenses
2025
2024
£
£
Other interest on financial liabilities
343,347
393,723
9
Taxation
2025
2024
£
£
Deferred tax
Origination and reversal of timing differences
16,771
35,087
J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
9
Taxation
(Continued)
- 19 -

The actual charge for the year can be reconciled to the expected (credit)/charge for the year based on the profit or loss and the standard rate of tax as follows:

2025
2024
£
£
(Loss)/profit before taxation
(342,102)
16,260
Expected tax (credit)/charge based on the standard rate of corporation tax in the UK of 25.00% (2024: 25.00%)
(85,526)
4,065
Tax effect of expenses that are not deductible in determining taxable profit
14,965
8,399
Tax effect of income not taxable in determining taxable profit
-
0
(6,516)
Other permanent differences
20
-
0
Capital allowances for year/period in excess of depreciation
39,600
29,139
Chargeable gains/(losses)
47,712
-
0
Taxation charge for the year
16,771
35,087
10
Intangible fixed assets
Goodwill
£
Cost
At 1 January 2025 and 31 December 2025
743,199
Amortisation
At 1 January 2025
667,095
Amortisation charged for the year
20,000
At 31 December 2025
687,095
Carrying amount
At 31 December 2025
56,104
At 31 December 2024
76,104
J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 20 -
11
Tangible fixed assets
Freehold land and buildings
Plant and equipment
Fixtures and fittings
Total
£
£
£
£
Cost or valuation
At 1 January 2025
2,698,324
1,512,021
643,106
4,853,451
Additions
-
0
82,225
7,659
89,884
Disposals
-
0
(7,000)
-
0
(7,000)
Revaluation
190,847
-
0
-
0
190,847
At 31 December 2025
2,889,171
1,587,246
650,765
5,127,182
Depreciation
At 1 January 2025
389,702
1,352,041
440,164
2,181,907
Depreciation charged in the year
53,966
41,852
59,382
155,200
Eliminated in respect of disposals
-
0
(3,617)
-
0
(3,617)
At 31 December 2025
443,668
1,390,276
499,546
2,333,490
Carrying amount
At 31 December 2025
2,445,503
196,970
151,219
2,793,692
At 31 December 2024
2,308,622
159,980
202,942
2,671,544

The value of assets held as security was £2,793,692 (2024: £2,671,544).

 

On 28 Novemer 2025, the freehold property including the land, was revalued. The fair value was determined by independent, professionally qualified valuers (RICS). The main input into the valuation was the market-based uplift in sales price per square foot which ranged from £43 – 69 per square foot. Had they been accounted for under the historical cost model, the carrying value of the freehold property would have been 2,254,656 (2024: 2,308,622). The total accumulated depreciation on the property under the historical cost convention is 443,669.

 

12
Stocks
2025
2024
£
£
Raw materials and consumables
953,328
999,892
Work in progress
52,873
112,323
1,006,201
1,112,215

Raw materials and consumables are stated after a stock provision of £27,714 (2024 - £104,059).

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 21 -
13
Debtors
2025
2024
Amounts falling due within one year:
£
£
Trade debtors
1,358,847
1,477,694
Amounts owed by group undertakings
31,434
26,437
Other debtors
38,782
74,166
Prepayments and accrued income
110,756
105,226
1,539,819
1,683,523

Amounts owed to group companies is unsecure, interest free and repayable on demand.

14
Creditors: amounts falling due within one year
2025
2024
Notes
£
£
Bank loans
16
335,939
457,000
Other borrowings
16
1,028,387
1,056,730
Trade creditors
694,053
962,543
Amounts owed to group undertakings
2,084,808
962,583
Taxation and social security
205,215
266,499
Government grants
18
25,511
24,366
Other creditors
42
6,864
Accruals and deferred income
132,050
182,528
4,506,005
3,919,113

The long-term loans are secured by fixed and floating charge placed over the property or undertaking of the company.

 

Amounts owed to group undertakings are interest free and repayable on demand.

15
Creditors: amounts falling due after more than one year
2025
2024
Notes
£
£
Bank loans and overdrafts
16
1,506,667
2,132,333
Other creditors
-
0
25,511
1,506,667
2,157,844
Creditors which fall due after five years are payable as follows:
Payable by instalments
(1,013,333)
(250,667)

The long-term loans are secured by fixed and floating charge placed over the property or undertaking of the company.

 

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
15
Creditors: amounts falling due after more than one year
(Continued)
- 22 -

Other loans accrue interest at a rate between 3.5% and 5% (2024: 3.5% and 5%) above the base rate and are payable in full within 15 years (2024: 9 years).

16
Loans and overdrafts
2025
2024
£
£
Bank loans
1,842,606
2,589,333
Other loans
1,028,387
1,056,730
2,870,993
3,646,063
Payable within one year
1,364,326
1,513,730
Payable after one year
1,506,667
2,132,333

The long-term loans are secured by fixed and floating charge placed over the property or undertaking of the company.

 

Other loans accrue interest at a rate between 3.5% and 5% (2024: 3.5% and 5%) above the base rate and are payable in full within 15 years (2024: 9 years).

17
Deferred taxation

The following are the major deferred tax liabilities and assets recognised by the company and movements thereon:

Liabilities
Liabilities
2025
2024
Balances:
£
£
Fixed asset timing
74,540
57,050
Losses and other
(49,559)
(495)
Capital gains and losses
47,712
-
Short term timing differences
(10)
(643)
72,683
55,912
2025
Movements in the year:
£
Liability at 1 January 2025
55,912
Effect of change in tax rate - profit or loss
16,771
Liability at 31 December 2025
72,683
J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
17
Deferred taxation
(Continued)
- 23 -

The deferred tax liability set out above is expected to reverse within 12 months and relates to accelerated capital allowances that are expected to mature within the same period.

18
Government grants
2025
2024
£
£
Arising from government grants
25,511
24,366
19
Retirement benefit schemes
2025
2024
Defined contribution schemes
£
£
Charge to profit or loss in respect of defined contribution schemes
71,980
155,218

The company operates a defined contribution pension scheme for all qualifying employees. The assets of the scheme are held separately from those of the company in an independently administered fund.

20
Share capital
2025
2024
2025
2024
Ordinary share capital
Number
Number
£
£
Issued and fully paid
Ordinary shares of £1 each
29,400
29,400
29,400
29,400
21
Reserves
Share premium

Share premium represents the premium paid on shares issued.

Revaluation reserve

Includes the revaluation of the property.

Capital redemption reserve

Includes the nominal value of all shares redeemed in current and prior periods.

Profit and loss reserves

Includes all current and prior period retained profits and losses.

J.A. HARRISON & COMPANY (MANCHESTER) LIMITED
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (CONTINUED)
FOR THE YEAR ENDED 31 DECEMBER 2025
- 24 -
22
Operating lease commitments
Lessee

 

At the reporting end date the company had outstanding commitments for future minimum lease payments under non-cancellable operating leases, which fall due as follows:

2025
2024
£
£
Within one year
87,593
46,654
Between one and five years
119,446
149,829
207,039
196,483
23
Events after the reporting date

There have been no significant events affecting the company since the year end.

24
Related party transactions

The company has taken advantage of the exemption available in Section 33.1A of FRS 102 whereby it has not disclosed transactions with the immediate parent company or any wholly owned subsidiary undertakings of the group headed by Amcomri Group plc.

During the period. the company paid rent of £55,000 (2024 £55,500) for properties owned by the Trustees of the J.A. Harrison & Company (Manchester) Limited SSAS. Directors of the company are trustees and beneficiaries of this pension scheme.

25
Directors' transactions

Dividends totalling £0 (2024 - £0) were paid in the year in respect of shares held by the company's directors.

26
Ultimate controlling party

The smallest and largest group of undertakings for which consolidated group accounts, which include the company, have been drawn up is headed by Amcomri Group plc. Amcomri Group plc has its registered office at 16/18 Beak Street, London, W1F 9RD.

2025-12-312025-01-01falsefalsefalseCCH SoftwareCCH Accounts Production 2025.300Keith ShepherdMark MullenSteve JonesInca Lockhart-Ross012369812025-01-012025-12-3101236981bus:Director22025-01-012025-12-3101236981bus:Director32025-01-012025-12-3101236981bus:CompanySecretary12025-01-012025-12-3101236981bus:Director12025-01-012025-12-3101236981bus:RegisteredOffice2025-01-012025-12-31012369812025-12-31012369812024-01-012024-12-3101236981core:RetainedEarningsAccumulatedLosses2024-01-012024-12-3101236981core:RetainedEarningsAccumulatedLosses2025-01-012025-12-3101236981core:RevaluationReserve2025-01-012025-12-3101236981core:Goodwill2025-12-3101236981core:Goodwill2024-12-31012369812024-12-3101236981core:LandBuildingscore:OwnedOrFreeholdAssets2025-12-3101236981core:PlantMachinery2025-12-3101236981core:FurnitureFittings2025-12-3101236981core:LandBuildingscore:OwnedOrFreeholdAssets2024-12-3101236981core:PlantMachinery2024-12-3101236981core:FurnitureFittings2024-12-3101236981core:CurrentFinancialInstruments2025-12-3101236981core:CurrentFinancialInstruments2024-12-3101236981core:Non-currentFinancialInstruments2025-12-3101236981core:Non-currentFinancialInstruments2024-12-3101236981core:ShareCapital2025-12-3101236981core:ShareCapital2024-12-3101236981core:SharePremium2025-12-3101236981core:SharePremium2024-12-3101236981core:RevaluationReserve2025-12-3101236981core:RevaluationReserve2024-12-3101236981core:CapitalRedemptionReserve2025-12-3101236981core:CapitalRedemptionReserve2024-12-3101236981core:RetainedEarningsAccumulatedLosses2025-12-3101236981core:RetainedEarningsAccumulatedLosses2024-12-3101236981core:ShareCapital2023-12-3101236981core:SharePremium2023-12-3101236981core:RevaluationReserve2023-12-3101236981core:CapitalRedemptionReserve2023-12-3101236981core:RetainedEarningsAccumulatedLosses2023-12-3101236981core:ShareCapitalOrdinaryShareClass12025-12-3101236981core:ShareCapitalOrdinaryShareClass12024-12-3101236981core:Goodwill2025-01-012025-12-3101236981core:LandBuildingscore:OwnedOrFreeholdAssets2025-01-012025-12-3101236981core:PlantMachinery2025-01-012025-12-3101236981core:FurnitureFittings2025-01-012025-12-3101236981core:UKTax2025-01-012025-12-3101236981core:UKTax2024-01-012024-12-310123698112025-01-012025-12-310123698112024-01-012024-12-310123698122025-01-012025-12-310123698122024-01-012024-12-310123698132025-01-012025-12-310123698132024-01-012024-12-3101236981core:Goodwill2024-12-3101236981core:LandBuildingscore:OwnedOrFreeholdAssets2024-12-3101236981core:PlantMachinery2024-12-3101236981core:FurnitureFittings2024-12-31012369812024-12-3101236981core:Non-currentFinancialInstruments12025-12-3101236981core:Non-currentFinancialInstruments12024-12-3101236981bus:OrdinaryShareClass12025-01-012025-12-3101236981bus:OrdinaryShareClass12025-12-3101236981bus:OrdinaryShareClass12024-12-3101236981core:WithinOneYear2025-12-3101236981core:WithinOneYear2024-12-3101236981core:BetweenTwoFiveYears2025-12-3101236981core:BetweenTwoFiveYears2024-12-3101236981bus:PrivateLimitedCompanyLtd2025-01-012025-12-3101236981bus:FRS1022025-01-012025-12-3101236981bus:Audited2025-01-012025-12-3101236981bus:FullAccounts2025-01-012025-12-31xbrli:purexbrli:sharesiso4217:GBP